Please Take Care of Yourself

Yesterday, after going for a run (and I use that term loosely), I stopped by my mother and stepfather’s house.  I was sweaty, dirty, wearing no makeup and looked homeless. I thought maybe they’d be worried I’d gone off the rails, so I prefaced the visit by saying, “Oh hey, I just went for a jog, hence my appearance…” After a few minutes of being there, it was clear my mother (who can’t hear a jet engine at this point I don’t think) was concerned.  To be fair, it hasn’t been the greatest year and a half, I can’t find a job, I made a huge move and my life has been somewhat turned upside down.  She came over to me, put her arm around me, and said: “Doria, I know this isn’t the greatest time in your life, but please don’t stop taking care of yourself, okay?”

This is humorous for several reasons, one being that I’ve sometimes gone to pick up my mother in the middle of the night when she’s run away from home, or rescued her when living with her friend Linda on top of her thrift store didn’t pan out the way she’d hoped.

“MOM, DID YOU HEAR ME, I SAID I JUST WENT FOR A RUN, I AM TAKING CARE OF MYSELF, I’M EXERCISING!” I exclaimed.

“Oh, sorry, Doria..”

Sometimes it’s the thought that counts. Thanks, Mom.

 

 

Leave a Reply

